CCWRA - Emergency Action Plans

The Authority owns and operates four regional flood control facilities which are classified by the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection, Division of Dam Safety, as High Hazard Dams. These are dams so located as to endanger populated areas downstream by its failure.

An Emergency Action Plan has been developed for each of the four dams. A copy of the plans, including an inundation map noting areas subject to flooding in the event of failure, are available for public inspection at the office of the Chester County Water Resources Authority and the offices of the municipalities listed below.

The following municipalities have areas identified as being subject to flooding in the event of a failure of one or more high hazard dams (see map):
  • Birmingham Township
  • Caln Township
  • Chadds Ford Township (Delaware County)
  • Coatesville City
  • Downingtown Borough
  • East Bradford Township
  • East Brandywine Township
  • East Caln Township
  • East Fallowfield Township
  • Honey Brook Township
  • Modena Borough
  • Newlin Township
  • Pennsbury Township
  • Pocopson Township
  • South Coatesville Borough
  • Upper Uwchlan Township
  • Uwchlan Township
  • Valley Township
  • Wallace Township
  • West Bradford Township
  • West Caln Township
  • West Nantmeal Township
  • Also, a portion of the unincorporated areas of New Castle County, DE

Map illustrating areas subject to flooding should a dam breach occur

Map - Planning For Dam Safety

Frequently Asked Questions